Apple and hazelnut salad with aniseed dressing/ Σαλάτα με μήλο και φουντούκι με σάλτσα γλυκάνισου

I have been a bit lazy with the blog lately. First of all we don’t have Internet connection (or a land line) at home yet, and I have no idea when they will connect us. It will probably take ages. Plus, after moving house, all we have been doing is unpacking and organizing our space. I am almost done though, so hopefully my cooking-for-the-blog energy will eventually return. 

Anyway, after a recent trip to IKEA to pick up general tit-bits for the house, I bought a great apple vinegar with red fruit. Vinegars are a little vice of mine. I have a large collection and I always pick an interesting one whenever I can. Most Greeks don’t go beyond simple red/white wine vinegar or balsamic, which has made its way into the local market the last couple of years. It is a pity though, because Greek wine producers have recently made a turn towards vinegar production, and it does make a big difference in a salad.

I was thinking a nice way to put my brand new purchase into use and I realised that it would go perfectly well with the salad I had at 21 twentyone restaurant in Kefalari last week. For those of you who cannot read Greek and therefore couldn’t read this post, this was a beautiful salad with apples and hazelnuts dressed in a aniseed vinaigrette. I know it is a very autumnal salad, but it is so tasty and juicy, I believe it can be enjoyed all year round.

Apple and hazelnut salad with aniseed dressing

INGREDIENTS for a large salad bowl (serves 4-6)

  • 300g mixed salad greens. I used curly endive, lolo rosso, frisee and radichio
  • 60g roasted hazelnuts
  • 1/3 red apple
  • 1/3 green apple
  • 1/2 tsp aniseed powder
  • olive oil
  • good vinegar (I used IKEA apple vinegar with red fruits)
  • salt, pepper

DIRECTIONS

  1. Wash and dry all greens carefully. If you can’t be bothered with that you can always buy pre-washed salad.
  2. Cut the apples, skin on, in thin strips.
  3. Crush hazelnuts roughly.
  4. Prepare the dressing by whisking all the ingredients together.
  5. Arrange the greens on a large platter, mix in apples and hazelnut drizzle with the dressing and serve.

KALI OREKSI

Συντάκτης: FoodJunkie

Food Junkie

2 thoughts

  1. Ioanna, I like this salad…alot….and it’s true, more attention to quality vinegars would be good over there.

    I’ve noticed leafy greens like here are more readily available there in the summer and this would make for a nice lunch with say….some grilled calamarakia?

Σχολιάστε

Ο ιστότοπος χρησιμοποιεί το Akismet για την εξάλειψη των ανεπιθύμητων σχολίων. Μάθετε πως επεξεργάζονται τα δεδομένα των σχολίων σας.